## RAJIV GANDHI UNIVERSITY RONO HILLS ; DOIMUKH

## MINUTES OF THE SIXTH MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL

The sixth meeting of the newly constituted 2<sup>nd</sup> Academic Council was held at 1000 hrs on 19<sup>th</sup> April 2011 in the Council Hall of the University. The following members attended the meeting.

	1. Prof. Tamo Mibang, V.C (i/c)	:	Chairman
	2. Prof. K.C. Kapoor, Dean, Faculty of Education	:	Member
,	3. Prof. N. Nagaraju, Dean, Faculty of Languages &	:	Member
	Head, Dept. of English		
	4. Prof. N.C. Roy, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences	:	Member
:	5. Dr. H.N. Sarma, Dean, Faculty of Life Science	:	Member
(	6. Dr. R.C. Parida, Dean, Faculty of Comm. &	<u>;</u>	Member
	Management & Head, Dept. of Commerce		
	7. Prof. R. Tamuli, Head, Dept. of Management	:	Member
ł	8. Prof. P.K. Panigrahi, Head, Dept. of Pol. Science	:	Member
ŝ	9. Dr. (Mrs.) J. Chakraborty, Head, Dept. of Zoology	:-	Member
	10. Dr. S.K. Singh, Head, Dept. of History	:	Member
	11. Dr. A.K. Shukla, Head, Dept. of Botany	:	Member
	12. Dr. (Mrs.) N.C. Singh, Head, Dept. of Geography	:	Member
	13. Dr. U. Bhattacharjee, Head, Dept. of CSE	:	Member
	14. Dr. J. Sahoo, Head, Dept. of Education	•	Member
	15. Dr. S.S. Singh, Head (I/c), Dept. of Hindi	:	Member
	16. Shri Sunil Koijam, Head (i/c), Dept. of Mass Com.		Member
	17. Shri Utpal Jyoti Das, Head (i/c) Dept. of Mathematics	: :	Member
	18. Prof. A.K. Das, Dept. of Botany	:	Member
	19. Prof. B. Tripathi, Dept. of History	:	Member
	20. Prof. Pura Tado, Dept. of Political Science	:	Member
	21, Dr. Tomo Riba, Dept. of Geography	:	Member
	ZZ. DI. Mishamami Kai, Dept. of Coography	. :	Member
	23 Dr. (Mrs.) S.S. Chaudhury, A.I.T.S	:	Member
	24 _Dr. (Ms.) Vandana Upadhyay, Dept. of Economics	÷	Member
:	25. Mr. Tomer Ete, Principal, DNGC, Itanagar	:	Member
:	26. Dr. Hage Lasa, Principal, Govt. College, Bomdila	:	Member
	27 Prof J.B. Bhattacharjee, I.N.I.S, Kolkata	:	Member
	28 Prof. R.N. Sharan, Dept. of Bio-Chemistry, NEHU	:	Member
	29 Prof. J.L. Dawar, Dept. of History, M.U, Aizawal	:	Member
	30. Prof. Sibranjan Mishra, Dept. of Economics, Visva	÷	Member
	Bharati University		
;	31. Prof. A. Mitra, Registrar I/C	:	Member

MINUTES OF THE 6<sup>TH</sup> MEETING OF THE A.C.



7

The A.C resolved that the IDE, RGU can adopt the course material/Self Learning Material (SLM) from other open learning Institutions with due permission from such Institutions/Organizations.

## (c) To Introduce P. G courses in History and Political Science from the Academic Session 2011-2012.

The A.C. noted that the Board of Management of Institute of Distance Education (IDE) has recommended introducing P. G courses in History and Political science from the Academic session 2011-12 under Distance Mode. The examination system shall be annual. The P. G syllabus in History and Political science prepared by the duly constituted Board

The AC approved for the introduction of P.G courses in History and Political Science in IDE from the Academic Session 2011-2012 subject to the approval from the Distance Education Council, New Delhi and also approved the syllabi for the courses.

## AC: 06:15: To approve setting up of three new Academic Disciplines at R.G.U

The Council noted that the UGC vide its letter No F. No. 27-5/2008 (CU) dated January 14, 2011 (Copy of the letter enclosed as **Annexure** - **6:15**) has given permission for setting up of three new Academic programes with  $\theta(six)$  Faculty position each as per details given below subject to approval by statutory bodies of University.

It was also noted that the financial implication on starting of three new departments may be incurred presently within the **XI Plan** allocation of Rajiv Gandhi University and any additional financial requirement for the departments will be considered at the time of Mid -Term Review of Central Universities.

- 1. Department of Sociology (1 Professor, 2 Associate professor and 3
- Assistant Professor)
  2. Department of Physics (1 Professor, 2 Associate professor and 3 Assistant Professor)
- 3. Department of Chemistry (1 Professor, 2 Associate professor and 3 Assistant Professor)

MINUTES OF THE 6<sup>TI</sup> MEETING OF THE A.C