Minutes of the 43rd meeting of the Academic Council held on 12.06.2023



RAJIV GANDHI UNIVERSITY Rono Hills, Doimukh-791112 Arunachal Pradesh

MINUTES OF THE 43RD ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING (IN BLENDED MODE)

The 43rd Meeting of the Academic Council was held on 12th June 2023 at 10:30 AM in the Smart Theatre, Department of CSE in blended mode.

The following esteemed members attended the meeting:

1.	Prof. Saket Kushwaha, Vice-Chancellor	Chairman (Ex-Officio)
2.	Prof. R.C. Parida, Dean, Faculty of Commerce & Management and Law	Member (Ex-Officio)
3.	Prof. Kh. Kabi, Faculty of Information Technology	Member (Ex-Officio)
4.	Prof. Sumpam Tangjang, Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences & Agri Sciences	Member (Ex-Officio)
5.	Prof. T. Lhungdim, Dean, Faculty of Education & Sports Sciences	Member (Ex-Officio)
6.	Prof. Sanjiv Kumar, Dean, Faculty of Basic Sciences	Member (Ex-Officio)
7.	Prof. Nishamani Kar, Dean (i/c), Faculty of Environmental Sciences	Member (Ex-Officio)
8.	Prof. S. K. Chaudhuri, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences	Member (Ex-Officio)
9.	Prof. Shyam Shankar Singh, Dean, Faculty of Languages	Member (Ex-Officio)
10.	Prof. Utpal Bhattacharjee, Dean, Faculty of Engineering Technology	Member (Ex-Officio)
11.	Prof. P.K. Panigrahi, Dean, Academic Affairs	Member (Ex-Officio)
12.	Dr. Radhe Amung , Head (i/c), Dept. of Anthropology	* Member
13.	Prof. R.K. Singh, Head, Dept. of Botany	Member
14.	Prof. S. K. Jena, Head, Dept. of Commerce	Member
15.	Dr. Sikdar Md. Askari,Head (i/c) Dept. of CSE	Member
16.	Prof. S.K. Nayak, Head, Dept. of Economics	Member
17.	Prof. P.K. Acharya, Head, Dept. of Education	Member
18.	Mrs. Champa Tanga, Head (i/c), Dept. of ECE	Member
19.	Prof. Bhagabat Nayak, Head, Dept. of English	Member
20.	Mr. Punyo Chobin, Head (i/c), Dept. of Fine Arts & Music	Member
21.	Dr. Jagdeep Rahul, Head i/c, Dept. of ECE	Member
22.	Dr. Sandeep Jangua (Head (i/c), Dept. of Food Technology	Member
23.	Prof. Sailejananda Saikia, Head, Dept. of Geography	Member
24.	Dr. Chandra Sekaran M., Head (i/c), Dept. of Geology	Member
25.	Prof. Oken Lego, Head, Dept. of Hindi	Member
26.	Prof. Ashan Riddi, Head, Dept. of History	Member
27.	Dr. Topi Basar, Head, Dept. of Law	Member
28.	Dr. Shankar Thappa, Head, Dept. of Management	Member
29.	Prof. Uttam Kr. Pegu, Head, Dept. of Mass Communication	Member
30.	Dr. Nipen Saikia, Head, Dept. of Mathematics	Member
31.	Dr. Arvind Kumar Kushwaha, Head (i/c), Dept. of NSS	Member
32.	Dr. Sambhu Prasad, Head, Dept. of Physical Education	Member
33.	Prof. P.K. Kalita, Head, Dept. of Physics	Member
34.	Prof. Nabam Nakha Hina, Head, Dept. of Political Science	Member
35.	Dr. Dharmeshrari Lourembam, Head (i/c), Dept. of Psychology	Member
36.	Dr. Ravi Ranjan Kumar, Head (i/c), Dept. of Social Work	Member

Page 1 of 23

Minutes of the 43rd meeting of the Academic Council held on 12.06.2023

	To discuss on the institution of a lecture series in honour of Lt. Prof. Tamo Mibang, former Vice-Chancellor of RGU.
AC:43:05	The AC noted that, an institutional level faculty meeting of AITS was held on 16.05.2023 under the Chairpersonship of the Director, AITS and discussed on instituting and organizing a lecture series in the honour of Lt. Prof. Tamo Mibang, former Vice-Chancellor of RGU. The minutes of the meeting was placed as Annexure-5 .
	The Academic Council perused and approved the proposal in principle for organizing a lecture series in the honour of Lt. Prof. Tamo Mibang, former Vice Chancellor of RGU. The fund of lecture series of Lt. Prof. Tamo Mibang shall be met from the fund of Centre for Endangered Languages, RGU. The AC authorized the Vice Chancellor to develop a guideline including funding sources of various kinds of lecture series in future and the same may be placed in the next Academic Council.
	To discuss on the proposal to create a new Department, in the name and style of the Dept. of Visual Arts.
AC:43:06	The AC noted that, a proposal was receipt from the Head i/c of the Dept. of Fine Arts & Music for establishment of a new department with a nomenclature of Dept. of Visual Arts under the faculty of Visual and Performing Arts. The proposal letter was placed as Annexure-6 .
	The Academic Council perused and approved the same in principle. However, the matter will be placed in the next Executive Council for deliberation and approval. On approval of the next EC, the proposal will be forwarded to the UGC.
	To relook into the bifurcation matter of Dept. of Education to (i) Dept. of Education and, (ii) Dept. of Teacher Education
AC:43:07	The AC noted that, the matter was earlier taken up in the 25 th meeting of the AC (Special) held on 28 th October, 2019 vide resolution no. AC:25:03, and wherein the Council perused and approved bifurcation of Department of Education into (i) Department of Education and (2) Department of Teacher Education. Thereafter, the same was reflected in the ordinance of RGU under Section 15 and 31 (2) of RGU Act, 2006 and got published in the Gazette of Govt. of India (Part III- Sec-4, page no. 108).
	The AC after a long deliberation approved the creation of a new Department, viz. 'Department of Teacher Education' as the same has already been approved. It was also resolved that, the Vice Chancellor shall appoint a new Head of the Department of Teacher Education and division of the staff will be done on the recommendations of the Departmental Council Meeting and the same will be placed in the next Academic Council for ratification.
	To establish the Sanskrit Education Centre under IDE, RGU.
AC:43:08	The AC noted that, the 44 th meeting of the Board of Management of IDE-RGU had recommended the establishment of a centre in the name and style of Sanskrit Education Centre to run non formal Sanskrit Education Course in the line of Central Sanskrit University, New Delhi. The extract of the minutes of XLIV Board of Management meeting of IDE was placed as Annexure-7 .
	The Academic Council perused and approved the same. The AC opines that, the Department of Hindi may prepare syllabus and run Sanskrit Course under NEP-2020 as per the UGC norms/rules in the days to come.

Mei

Page 4 of 23